Grow Your Business Online.

Universal SSL (CloudFlare) vs Paid SSL


Universal SSL certificates are limited by:

  • the hostnames they cover, and
  • the client browsers they support.

Hostname coverage

Universal SSL certificates only support SSL for the root or first-level subdomains such as and To enable SSL support on second, third, and fourth level subdomains such as or, you need to purchase a paid SSL.

Browser support

Universal SSL uses Server Name Indication (SNI) certificates with Elliptic Curve Digital Signature Algorithm (ECDSA).  It is possible for Cloudflare Support to enable non-SNI support for domains on Pro, Business, or Enterprise plans for Universal, Dedicated, Custom, or Custom Hostname certificates.  SNI and ECDSA certificates work with the following modern browsers:

Desktop Browsers installed on Windows Vista or OS X 10.6 or later:

  • Internet Explorer 7
  • Firefox 2
  • Opera 8 (with TLS 1.1 enabled)
  • Google Chrome v5.0.342.0
  • Safari 2.1

Mobile Browsers:

  • Mobile Safari for iOS 4.0
  • Android 3.0 (Honeycomb) and later
  • Windows Phone 7

Getting Paid SSL Certificates

For paid SSL certificates, you may refer to

Did you find it helpful? Yes No

Send feedback
Sorry we couldn't be helpful. Help us improve this article with your feedback.